GeoUndeground

Close login

Documentation



Documentation » Security & Admin » Role Management

Role Management

A Role is an administrative group containing one or more users created for the purpose of common permissions.  All permissions in GeoUnderground are set by roles.  Using roles allows the user to create logical grouping of users that should have the same access level to certain content.

NOTE: Only Admin users can access Site Admin functionality.

To create a role, mouse over the “Site Admin” label on the left side of the header and click on the “Role Management” option from the menu.  The Role Management window is displayed with two columns.  The column on the left will display all the roles in the portal.  The right column will display the Create Role form with the Feature Access checkboxes, “Save” and “Clear” buttons.  The “Save” and “Clear” buttons are disabled, until a field has been modified.  There are two Feature Access checkboxes:

User/Role Administration – Place a check in this box if the role is should have administrative rights.

Company Bookmarks – Place a check in this box if the role should be able to access the company’s bookmarks.


GeoUnderground's Role Management window

After the admin user fills out all of the fields on the form and clicks the “Save” button, the newly created role will be displayed in the left column.  The newly created role will have a ‘0’ for User Count, since no users have been assign to this role yet. 


GeoUnderground's Role Assignment After New User Created

To edit an existing role, click on the role in the table on the left side.  The Edit Role form is displayed in the right column of the Role Management window with “Save”, “Clear” and “Delete” buttons.  The “Save” button is disabled, until a change has been made.  Update a field, then select the “Save” button.  The user will be saved and the Create Role form will be displayed in the right column.

GeoUnderground's Role Assignment Edit User

To delete a role, click on the role in the table on the left side.  The Edit Role form is displayed in the right column of the Role Management window with “Save”, “Clear” and “Delete” buttons.  The “Save” button is disabled, until a change has been made.  Click on the “Delete” button, a popup modal is displayed asking to confirm your request.

GeoUnderground's Role Assignment Delete Confirmation popup

Click on the confirm button on the popup modal to confirm the delete request.  The role will be deleted and the Create Role form will be displayed in the right column.